1. Home
  2. Tutorials and How Tos
  3. How to Remove a Device from a Strategic Group

How to Remove a Device from a Strategic Group

Their are two ways to remove devices from a strategic group in OmniCenter – the quick way, and the slightly less quick way. Both ways produce identical results and work for single or multiple device removal.

The Quick Way

To remove devices from a strategic group device group in OmniCenter the quick way:

From the OmniCenter main menu, select Administration → Grouping → Strategic Groups to open the the Strategic Groups Administration page.

Determine which strategic group you would like to remove devices from and in its ACTIONS column click the edit button to open the group’s edit page.

On the edit page for the group, the Devices section displays all the devices in that strategic group.

Simply click the delete icon in the ACTIONS column of the device that you want to remove, and the device will be removed from the group.

If the device isn’t immediately visible, or the list of devices is large, use the search box at the top right as a realtime filter to find the device that you’re looking for.

The Slightly Less Quick Way

If you want to remove a large number of devices, the above method may be too slow. In that case, select the Devices tab at the top of the edit page.

On the Devices tab:

 

  1. Select the strategic group containing the devices that you want to remove from the strategic group to narrow the selection options, or select “Everything” to show all devices in all strategic groups, “None” to show all devices not in any strategic groups, or “All Devices” to show all devices in OmniCenter.
  2. In the device selection grid that appears, place a checkmark next to the devices which you would like to remove from the strategic group.
    • Use the search box to filter the list if necessary. Currently selected devices will remain checked.
  3. Click the < Remove button.

The selected devices will then be removed from the “Devices in Strategic Group” list and a message will be printed to the top of the page indicating that the devices have been removed. At this point, the devices have been removed from the respective strategic group and you may navigate away from the device assignment page.

Updated on June 10, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support

Leave a Reply